The 5 Stages

The 5 stages of grief

denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance.

I am currently going through these stages having graduated college in October. I firmly believe I am finally at stage 5, acceptance. I have accepted the fact that I am 24 (nearly 25 lord have mercy on my soul) and have no real direction or idea of where my future is going. Every second day I change my mind, I apply for a job, I reject a job, or my favourite, accept the job and then decline it, out of pure fear.

I really shouldn’t be grieving about college as I have my whole life ahead of me, as people around me keep saying. But how can I not? During them 4 years I excelled. I went to college for 5 days and worked 3 days as a waitress, received a 1:1 in Accounting. That was enough, no one expected anything else.Now I find the first thing people say to me is ‘how’s work’, ‘where do you work now’. There’s just constant pressure, more so than when I was in college.

To say I’m struggling is an understatement.

I moved to Dublin after college to start an accounting contract. I lasted 1 month before I left. I don’t want to be an accountant, question is, what do I want to be?

When I typed in blogs online so many different ones popped up, make up, hair, travel, fitness. I just couldn’t find one that I related to. So here I am, sitting in my dressing gown, googling jobs available, online. Again.

I love Sundays…

2 thoughts on “The 5 Stages

  1. I can totally relate to this… Honestly, this is why I went to grad school. I felt like I couldn’t get a “decent” job without a master’s degree and didn’t want to deal with that yet! Thanks for being so honest and sharing your thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

